ELP Meeting

Faculty & Mentors



Kelly Lyman

ELP Coordinator & Associate Research Professor

Kelly Lyman is a recently retired superintendent and served as a school leader in Connecticut for nearly 30 years. During that time, she focused on systemic improvement efforts designed to develop in students the knowledge, skills, and understandings necessary for success in a rapidly changing global environment. She has long been an advocate for collaborative leadership that seeks to empower all members of the learning organization.
Email: kelly.lyman@uconn.edu

Steven Adamowski

Dr. Steven Adamowski
Adjunct Professor

Joe Macary

Dr. Joe Macary
Adjunct Professor

Morgaen Donaldson

Dr. Morgaen Donaldson
Associate Professor

Nate Quesnel

Dr. Nate Quesnel
Adjunct Professor

Paul Freeman

Dr. Paul Freeman
Adjunct Professor


In partnership with the Connecticut Association of Public School Superintendents (CAPSS), participants are paired with an experienced superintendent mentor for a two-semester internship or clinical practicum in district leadership. Superintendents who have served as mentors include:

Alan Addley – Darien

Mark Benigini – Meriden

Maureen Brummett – Newington

Cate Carbone – Bristol

Bridget Carnemolla – Avon

Kate Carter – South Windsor

Christine Carver – Bethel

Matt Conway – Derby

Craig Cooke – Madison

Anna Cutaia – Milford

Matt Curtis – Simsbury

Paul Freeman – Guilford

Matt Geary – Manchester

Thomas Girard – Waterford

Kathy Greider – Farmington

Brian Luizzi – New Cannan

Joe Macary – Vernon

Steven Moccio – Stafford

Scot Nicol – Ellington

Maryann O’Donnel – Clinton

David Petrone – Coventry

Nate Quesnel – Norwich Free Academy

Bryan Rees – East Haddam

Verna Ruffin – Waterbury

Jeff Sloan – Cheshire

Kevin Smith – Wilton

Mark Zito – Rocky Hill